Job Layoff, Cake Girl, & New Horizons

First of all, I apologize for not having another liquor review lined up for the week but I was recently laid off and am now on “survivor mode,” so to speak. Thankfully, I anticipated that something like this would eventually take place and already have an emergency fund to foot the bill until I land into my next job. I just wasn’t prepared to hear it in the middle of the week of what only seemed like another typical work week, you know what I mean? It wasn’t like my job performance was bad or that I was disobeying rules. If anything, I set the example and standards for employees to follow but for one reason or another, the owner took it all down and set up his own standards and ways of managing the business.

And due to a number of factors, namely, diverging business objectives and business management philosophies, he, more or less, stretched the company thin of its bottom line and then turns around and blames it on me . (Surprise, surprise). Now to you, my dear readers, I’m well aware that you may not know the exact details of the circumstances surrounding this layoff and unfortunately, I won’t get into too much details because 1) I don’t believe in badmouthing my previous employers and 2) from an objective standpoint, his way of managing a business is merely a different way of doing it. Not necessarily right or wrong. Just different. And while I tried my very best to accommodate his style of business management, ultimately, we’re just not a good fit for each other and it was about time that we go our separate ways. It just happened to be the case that he took action first and let me go. It is what it is so no sense in crying over spilled milk (even if I did cry just a little). Now, I have plenty of time to seek out another job that would make better use of my job skills, experience, and talents or spend a bit of time to figure out what I want to do next.

Anyway, enough about that. Right now, I want to talk about Cake Girl. Cake Girl is a good friend of mine and she set up a GoFundMe page for people who support her in opening up a business in Boyle Heights. Unfortunately, due to circumstances unforeseen, the cost of opening up a business in the area proved to be frustrating and the costs kept mounting up due to zoning codes, building codes, and getting everything up to be spec so that the city of Los Angeles can put their stamp of approval to allow her to finally open up her shop for business. I would like to ask my dear readers to visit her GoFundMe page and donate whatever amount that you can afford. Whether it’s $100 or $25, every little bit counts. And it would be much appreciated.

I’ve personally known Cake Girl, (Amy is her real name), for many years and we’ve worked together at another company (Borders Group Inc, the Glendale location, Store #0149, whoop whoop!!!) in our distant past but she’s grown to be a phenomenal baker and pastry chef since we parted ways from our previous place of employment. I’ve been a guinea pig to many of her creations and I could tell that she’s been working on perfecting her baking skills and pastry making skills since then. She has a large following of followers on Instagram (HelloCakeGirl) who all support her and I’ll be going to her crowdfunding event to show my support. On her Instagram, you can also check out many of her masterpieces and works in progress so you can get an idea of what she specializes in. (Did I ever mention that she makes vegan pastries and baked good too?) If you’re in the Los Angeles area, please come on down and support her. But if you’re not in the Los Angeles area, and you’re out of state or what not, I would be very thankful if you can contribute something to her GoFundMe page.

On other news, I’ve been sending out resumes to various places, industries, and what have you and I’m trying to stay positive and keep my head up as I chug along. Hopefully, my unemployment claim will go through without a hitch so I can at least get something to help me pay the bills and my job hunt search. I’m very hopeful and cannot wait to get started on my next job at the next company I land in. Until then and until I know for sure if my unemployment claim will go through, I’ll be putting my weekly liquor reviews on hold for the moment. I’ll know for sure some time next week but in the mean time, I’ll be writing other articles, so I hope that you’ll stick around and check back often.

Access over 4 million eBooks and carry your entire library on a Kobo eReader or our free app. Shop Now!

Leave Me Your Ramblings

