Hofbrau Hefe Weizen – Musky Tasting Wheat Beer

This one definitely caught me off guard. So far to date, many of the wheat beers I’ve tried actually had a rather sour taste but this one did not have that. In fact, it’s a pretty clear and clean taste. It has a moderate amount of carbonation but is rather easy to drink on the whole. Its appearance though is that a of typical hefe weizen. Cloudy but otherwise, that same cloudiness did not translate into a heavier taste or thicker mouth feel. In fact, if anything, the mouth feel is more closer to a typical lager.

I think that by far, I like this hefe weizen out of all the hefe weizen’s I’ve tried from Bevmo. But there is this distinct “musky” taste to it. Not sure what to make of it but it’s sort of drinking unfiltered Japanese sake or like drinking unfiltered Korean rice wine. Both types of rice wine, one made from Japan and one from Korea, basically describes that kind of “musky” taste that I’m talking about. If you’re not sure, go out and buy some unfiltered rice wine or unfiltered Japanese sake and try it for yourself. It’s kind of like a milky texture except that it doesn’t taste like milk and this musky flavor tastes like its been aged for a bit too long and has accumulated some flavors that it wasn’t meant to. I mean, between this musky flavor and the sour flavor from the Tucher beers, I’d rather take this over the sour flavors, ya know what I mean?

Like the previous beer, this one also has a bit of carbonation as well. More than the usual so far. It’s not bad on the whole. I think for this type of beer, high carbonation is rather ideal. Aside from that, I started noticing other flavors that are reminiscent of Chinese herbal teas that I sort of grew up drinking, not by choice, but because it was something that my family did, as a matter of tradition. As strange as it sounds, this beer reminds me of drinking chrysanthemum tea. Not so much the floral flavors but that musky taste when you get to the bottom of the tea where the chrysanthemum florets, leaves, and twigs dwell at the bottom of the tea pot. On top of that, it also reminds me of traditional Chinese medicine, which as unappetizing as it sounds, isn’t really all that bad. But to be fair, the type of taste I’m trying to describe can only be described as “bitter” but it’s not bitter. It just gives the impression that it’s bitter but just when you expect to recoil in disgust or barf it out, you don’t. In other words, as strange as it sounds, it builds up the bitterness up until you swallow the beer but when you expect that wave of bitterness, it doesn’t actually come.

All things considered though, while I did like this one a lot more over the Tucher hefe weizen, at the end of the day, I still prefer my dark beers or pale lagers over any hefe weizen. Until I’ve tried a hefe weizen that just blows all the other hefe weizens out of the sea, I will remain adamant in my position that hefe weizen isn’t all that good as a beer type.

Drizly Delivers Beer, Wine, Liquor to your door. Save $5 with code DRIZLYDEALS if you order now!

Leave Me Your Ramblings

