Ayinger Celebrator Doppelbock $3.99 @ BevMo

ayinger-celebrator-front

I want to like this one but after reading the label, I started to have the expectation that the bottle depicted as having. “Dark, malty, and rich” the bottle says. If this beer is supposed to be dark, I certainly don’t taste it. It’s nutty. I can sort of taste the malt. But dark and rich, it is not. I can’t quite put my finger on it but it has a strange twang to it. I’m not sure if it’s because this bottle is past its ‘best by date’ which upon looking for it on the bottle and cap, I couldn’t find it. This beer has a distinctly sweet smell and unsurprisingly, it leaves quite a bit of residue on one’s lips.

ayinger-celebrator-close-up-front

I would say that the beer is between a light and medium body feel. I can sort of make out that dark flavor if you really try to taste it by sipping some and breathing air through your mouth at the same time. When you do that, you can really taste the nutty and malty flavor. And while this is a fairly minor issue, you can sort of taste a bit of the bitterness when you do this sip and breathe some air swallowing technique. (It’s not really a technique, by the way. It’s just my way of describing how to drink a beer).

ayinger-celebrator-back

I guess I was expecting more out of this beer but unfortunately, this one fell a bit short. On the bright side, the ABV is at a steep 6.7% but this bottle isn’t even a full pint or for that matter, a full 12 oz bottle either. It’s at a puny 11.2 fl oz. A bit disappointing on many areas but it’s not a hard beer to sip on. It’s pleasant for the most part if you can accept that there’s nothing terribly remarkable about its taste. It’s funny because the last two Ayinger beers I’ve had were quite decent overall yet somehow this one fell short. Bizarre, really. This one even had a fancy lanyard with a plastic white goat with its name stamped on the base of it too.

If it were up to me, I’d say that you should still give this beer a try for novelty sake but otherwise, it’s not one I can really recommend for you to go out of your way to buy more of or to buy repeatedly.

Your Favorite Holiday Drink Ingredients Delivered. Shop at Drizly today and have your alcohol delivered in under an hour.

Leave Me Your Ramblings

