Black Velvet Blended Canadian Whiskey $8.99 @ CVS

bv-3

I do apologize for the lack of entries in the last two weeks. Two weeks ago, I had recently switched jobs and didn’t want to risk burning through my savings on booze. And just last week, I had fallen sick (caught the cold from my new co-workers) so I ended up not buying any booze for that week as well.

Today, I decided to go with a Canadian Whiskey for a change since I’ve been going through the bottom shelf vodka’s in my last review or two. I was actually expecting a lot more from this whiskey since the bottle itself clearly advertises this 3 year old blended whiskey as the “smoothest” of blended Canadian whiskeys. I’ve had blended Canadian whiskeys before. Not too many but enough to say that this is probably not one of the smoother one’s that I’ve had so far.

bv-2

When you first crack open the bottle, you’re going to get a strong whiff of that classic alcohol smell. If anything, it just smells like a bottle of plain ol’ vodka. Or rubbing alcohol, depending on what memories you have of this smell. Just based on the smell alone, I knew that this was going to burn my mouth going in and keep burning until it goes down into my stomach. Sure enough, I was right.

Granted, it did not have that harsh aftertaste a cheap, bottom shelf whiskey would typically have, be it blended, bourbon, or scotch. So that’s a plus on that end. But really, that’s about the only plus with this whiskey. Aside from that, I remember reading a few articles on the internet where people have said that Canadian whiskey is basically rye whiskey, which this is not. If anything, I would categorize this whiskey as somewhere between a blended whiskey and a bourbon. Not quite a bourbon but not exactly a blended whiskey either.

bv-1

If I had to say it, this tastes a lot like a regular bottle of plain ol’ vodka with food coloring but that’s just me. Whatever oak taste that I’m supposed to be tasting isn’t there. At least, not in this particular bottle. It might just be because it’s an old bottle that’s been sitting on the CVS shelf. Or maybe not. Who knows?

In any case, I would throw this in among the list of bottom shelf liquors that you can potentially buy as an alternative to other bottom shelf liquors. But there are cheaper liquors like the Gran Legacy Canadian Whiskey, which can do the job just fine. Personally for me, after the first few sips, the whiskey does mellow out but that’s only because the alcohol is kicking in by that point. Between the two, I guess if I don’t mind the initial burn, I would go with the Black Velvet. But otherwise, if I’m on a tighter budget, I’d go the Gran Legacy Canadian Whiskey instead.

Too cold to leave the house? Have Drizly deliver alcohol to you. Save $5, use code DRIZLYDEALS. Shop now!

Leave Me Your Ramblings

