Pixie Pears $1.99 3 Lbs Bag @ 99 Cent Store

Here’s something that I haven’t really considered doing a product review: bags of fruit from the 99 cent store. Now, I know what you’re thinking. It’s a fruit. It’s a pear. How is it any different than any other bags of fruit or individual pears that you can buy at a supermarket? Well, the first thing that immediately comes to mind is freshness. If you go to your local Vons, Ralph’s, Food4Less, Albertson’s, Smart & Final, Big Savers, or any other national supermarket chain or even regional supermarket chain like Winn-Dixie or Stater Bros, the freshness of the fruit is quite apparent.

pp1

MGTOW Parody Tote Bag – His Bag, His Choice

All that being said, the amount that you get per pound of fruit is much, much higher. I’d say, that it can be easily $1 per pound. Now, $1 sounds  cheap for a whole fruit but it’s actually not when you consider the fact that the 99 Cent Store carries 3 LBS bags of fruit for $2 and in the bag, you get about 8 or 9 whole fruits. When compared with the national or regional supermarket chains, you’d be fortunate if you can squeeze in 3 full sized pears (or apples or any other fruit) into a plastic bag and weigh them.

pp2

MGTOW Parody T-Shirt – Feminazi

For whatever reason, the density of the fruit at those supermarkets seem unusually on the high end. I remember buying fruit, specifically, apples, oranges, and pears at my local Smart & Final in Lincoln Heights from a long while back and recall that the cost of eating healthy seem unusually high. Apples were $1 per LB. Pears were $1 per LB. Oranges, depending on the type, can be $1 or more per LB. That’s crazy, isn’t it? They did, however, sell bags of fruit but when compared with what I could get individually, they were definitely overpriced.

MGTOW Bumper Sticker – Be Yourself

It got me wondering. Am I paying for the freshness? Or is there other factors that I’m not taking into account here? It would seem so that freshness would be on of those factors. Density, quality, and possibly ripeness might be three more factors. Is there anything else that I may not be considering, ya know what I mean? The shelf life of these “fresh” fruit aren’t any longer than the bags of fruit that I’ve managed to attain at my local 99 Cent Store, which is also in Lincoln Heights.

pp3

MGTOW Parody T-Shirt – Simping Ain’t Easy

Now, with that said, Pixie Pears and their other bags of fruit have been blowing my mind lately. Granted, the size of the fruit are a bit smaller but that’s convenient for me since I can easily portion out the individual whole fruits in between meals or to use as a snack. Pixie Pears in particular seem to carry medium-sized pears. Now, it’s not unique to this “Pixie Pears” brand but the other brands, which I’ve never heard of prior to just more recently also carrying similar sized pears with a similar taste profile.

MGTOW Parody Coffee Cup – White Knighting Ain’t Easy

It’s a pear, at Bartlett pear, at that. It’s juicy and sweet when you let sit a couple of days in a paper bag. It doesn’t even have to be in a paper bag. I personally just place the bag of pears near my kitchen windows to give it time to ripen. Worked for me and I think it should work for you as well.

MGTOW Parody T-Shirt – Feminist Feelings

Yes, because they are 99 Cent Store bags of fruit, many of those whole fruits aren’t perfect. They definitely have visible signs of ‘damage’ or imperfections. No problem. I take out my handy fruit knife and slice off that portion that has gotten oxidized. You can certainly pick and choose any bag you want and select the one bag (or a couple of bags) with the fewest blemishes but to me,

MGTOW PSA Parody T-Shirt – Take Resources

I just want to have more fruit in my diet and the price per pound at the local supermarkets in my area (Smart & Final and Big Savers) are just too high for me. So these days, I’ve just been shopping at my local 99 Cent Store for bags of fruit instead. (Granted, if I shopped long and hard enough at the Asian supermarkets, I’m sure that I can find much cheaper prices of fruit per pound but…ain’t nobody got time for that! Plus, those markets are out of way when the 99 Cent Store is literally a few blocks from where I live where I can just walk there and get some today, if I wanted to).

MGTOW Parody T-Shirt – I Need Feminism

This one happened to have come in a 3 LB bag but I’ve seen other store brands here where it is more typically in a 2 LB bag for $2. In any case, it just means that there are less fruit in the bag. The one that I grabbed happened to have 8 individual pears.

MGTOW Canadian Monkey Turning His Own Way Bottle Opener W/ Built-In Flameless Cigarette Lighter

All in all, if you’re cheap and on a budget and don’t care too much of blemishes and imperfections on the fruit, get your bags of fruit at the 99 Cent Store. For all other reasons, go to the national or regional supermarket chains.

MGTOW Monk Mode for 30 Years Anniversary Bottle Opener W/ Built-In Flameless Cigarette Lighter

 

Leave Me Your Ramblings